Make your own free website on
Official Seal of the Province of Bukidnon
Province of Bukidnon, The Pineapple Capital of the World
Official Seal of the Philippines


According to oral history of the indigenous people of Bukidnon, there were four main tribes in Central Mindanao: the Maranao who dwell in Lanao del Sur, and the Maguindanao, Manobo and Talaandig who respectively inhabit the eastern, southern, and north-central portions of the original province of Cotabato. When the civil government divided central Mindanao into provinces at the turn of the 20th century, the groups included in the province of Bukidnon are the Talaandig and the Manobo. The Bisayans, Cebuano, Boholanos and Ilonggos migrated into the province followed by various groups from Luzon, namely, the Ilocanos, Batangueños, the Igorots and the Ivatans. All contributed massive acculturation among the indigenous tribes. Most of those who moved to the mountains and forest continued to hold on their ancestors’ cultural heritage. The wide variety of Filipino groups now thrives in the province and contributed immensely in the socio-economic development.

Total population is 1,060,275

The province has different dialects brought by the immigration of lowlanders that come from the different islands of the archipelago. Cebuano is spoken by 77.9% of the population; Binukid, by 8.9%; and English, by 0.05%.

The province has a total of 464 barangays distributed among 21 municipalities and one component city. Malaybalay is the capital town. The province is grouped into 3 congressional districts.


Copyright © 2007. Province of Bukidnon, Philippines. All rights reserved.
Proudly Philippine Made.